top of page

How I “Travel” Without Traveling & How You Can Too!

Hey girl/guy/non-binary person,

So this is probably one of the first and last times I will mention this subject ---but it must be talked about for the purpose of this post: COVID19. This global pandemic has been in our lives since the month of February for the most part, but it definitely feels soooo much longer than that. Wherever you are on the spectrum (totally concerned with it/not concerned at all) it has absolutely affected your life in some way, shape, or form. For me, thankfully it has only affected my travels and my work. I am completely humbled and grateful that I still have my loved ones because others have not been so lucky :(. With that being said of course, I have to own my feelings (and you should to!) on how I have been “negatively” affected by this.

Pre-COVID I had a job lined up in the beautiful country of Croatia! From May to July, I was going to be meeting exciting people, basking in the sun, and taking in the sights at the GORGEOUS Plitvice Lakes National Park! Of course I was sooo disappointing when this fell through as anyone would be, but I decided not to dwell. I know Croatia will always be there & will be waiting for me when the time is right!

What really spiked my anxiety during COVID was when I lost my job at the end of March. I have serious triggers when it comes to money due to my childhood & being a broke adult in NYC----so you can say I was not handling the financial hit all that well. Once my unemployment fell through shortly after due to the hack in their system I was losing it!! On the outside I seemed okay, but honestly inside I was a mess. I had insomnia and would get sleep paralysis (which is fucking scary by the way!!)----my body was soooo tired, but my brain would not STOP stressing out. I truly felt like I was hallucinating- one night around 3am I heard children voices singing a creepy song behind me, but my body couldn’t move to run away (ahhhhhh!!!). Not wanting to experience this ever again, slowly but surely I have been sleeping better and finding ways to cope with my anxiety. Mediation, playing my ukulele, and self care have been A MUST during this time for me. If COVID has made you feel anything like me I really would suggest trying to find whatever makes you happy. We do not know when this will all be over, or if it ever will ---BUT we can try to control how we feel during this crazy time.

How I decided I want to control how I feel is to create a sense of fun, happiness, laughter, and peace in all that I do! For me to be truly fulfilled, everything & everyone in my life at this current moment needs to either uplift, inspire, or challenge me. One thing that I really was not being honest about with myself (even though this is a travel blog LOL) is how much I actually MISS traveling:(. I’m someone that thrives on change, new experiences, and constant stimulation (I’m a big kid at ❤️).So, today my lovelies I am going to tell you ways on how to “travel” even when you are not traveling:

  • Try some new exotic cuisines in your hometown! If you are living in or near a city you can find many cafes and restaurants that will transport you to another land. After a night out for a friends bday she took me to an Ethiopian restaurant that I would not have tried otherwise and it was AMAZING!! I licked the plate clean & it felt so authentic to her culture. My next stop is a cool Indian restaurant in my city-- where I am hoping to really immerse myself with the food, music, and ambience. Eating food from other parts of the world can almost make you feel like you're there & you also have some local food knowledge before you can make the trip yourself!

  • Be a tourist in your own city :) I know there many things closed down due to the pandemic but I PROMISE there are at least 5 places, things, and attractions you may have not seen yet! I really have been taking this tip to heart & have since discovered two beautiful parks with amazing views of the Boston Skyline, a cool KPOP store, and a picturesque rose garden. Challenge yourself to check out a new place, take some cute pics for insta, and fuel your traveler soul ----all the while being only a train ride away from home.


  • Try a new excursion! To piggyback on the previous tip----go do something “touristy”. In Boston you can rent kayaks on the Charles River with the whole city and its breathtaking (I plan to try it out this weekend!). Do you have any boat cruises, walking tours, or sightseeing observatories in your city? Maybe check out a museum or an art exhibit? Fill your time with new exciting adventures & trick your brain into thinking you are at a faraway destination!

  • Start planning your next trip!!!!!! We all know traveling abroad is up in the air, but half the fun of traveling is planning it out. This is the time to compare locations based on cultures, costs, and landscapes & really define what type of trip you want to have next. Create a bucket list or vision board of where you want to go & want you want to see. My next trips are Paris, Greece, & Thailand---and right now planning my itinerary makes my heart and soul very happy :) Plus, once the restriction is lifted it will be so satisfying to make this trip a reality.

For all my wanderlust traveler souls out there I FEEL you and I hear you. This pandemic has delayed plans and in my case hurt a job opportunity and a chance to see Croatia (for now). I know its probably not a popular opinion, but I do believe we needed something like this. NOT the deaths, loneliness, and isolation this has caused, but the idea of slowing down….. In my case, this has brought emotions to the surface that I was not dealing with yet simply because I did not take a second to breathe. This has been a time for reflection, rejuvenation, and release and I am so thankful for it. My loves, if you have lost someone close to you my heart goes out to you. For my other beautiful people---who have their health and their families health---but are dealing with stress, anxiety, & loneliness---my heart goes out to you as well. We cannot control our circumstances, but we can control how we feel and how we react to it. Relax, meditate, spend time with loved ones, go outside, and explore your own backyard! Your heart & mind will thank you for it.

XOXO, Naje

bottom of page