top of page

What I Learned As A Women Traveling SOLO (Tips & Advice)


Hey girl,

Last year, as you know from my bio I embarked on my first ever SOLO trip! It was so amazing and eye opening & of course with anything there were some challenges and obstacles. I know there is the misconception that we as women have heard: traveling alone is dangerous. Girl I feel you and hear where you are coming from ---if this is your current perspective. I DEFINITELY have had moments that weirded me out like when a Czech Republic police man hit on me when I was walking alone on the street at 3am…. What I want to say is a simple truth that is hard to hear, but needs to be said. BEING A WOMAN CAN BE SCARY. I know you know what I mean, and for my men out there you really will never know what its “like with a skirt on”- Andre 3000. I’ve lived in Brooklyn, Bronx, Boston, and even a small town in Florida; and the common theme for me was that there will always be situations with leery men that make me uncomfortable or afraid. This is not intended to be negative or to scare you, but this is the reality of our situation as women and girls. I can go on and on about this and I just MIGHT in my podcast… Lets Keep It Spicy (shameless plug). For now, I just want to put that out there and segway into saying that you CANNOT allow fear to control how you operate. To know the risks, and to do it anyways is true bravery in my eyes. We give birth, we run households, and we fight for our rights everyday! Do not forget how powerful it is to be a women & how strong you can be in the face of adversity. Of course, its important to be aware, and safe but anything can happen anywhere so do what you love and GO FOR IT. Okay now I am done with my rant!! I love you all so much, and I want you all to feel inspired, powerful, and safe always.

With that being said of course I am here to give you my advice, tips, and tricks to make your travels a bit easier as a women and de bunk some myths you may of heard:

Myth#1 YOU ARE ALWAYS ALONE: In truth, I was never really “alone”. I got a job in a hostel so I was always around guests and my friends/coworkers. I know you are probably thinking that working in a hostel is not in your life plan, but I promise there are always ways of meeting people you just need to put yourself out there! In Berlin I was truly alone the whole first day in a German country, with no phone service (only spotty wifi) on Halloween weekend. I had a surreal moment when I went to my first concert by myself that night (Jessie Reyez!!) and I thought to myself “I am truly a badass.” I had to give myself props on how I did something sooooo out of my comfort zone. The next day I had the intention of doing a solo day since the first night went so well. I did a FREE 4 hour street walking tour with an amazing knowledgable tour guide. When we were leaving to start the tour this one girl was with us, but decided to go home because it was freezing (it was probably 40 degrees fahrenheit with strong winds so I do not blame her.) When the tour was over I walked back to my hostel, headed towards my room, and then I bumped into her in the hallway! She was super cool and friendly so we decided we were going to the thrift store to shop for some Halloween costumes together. As we were heading out she saw a guy she met while staying there and invited him to join us. The three of us had such a fun time in that thrift store for hours (it was SO huge) & it just felt very natural and organic. When we got back we saw a group of people across the hall from us who invited us to their room for a party! In the room I met some really cool people who were Americans but living in Barcelona at the time. I also met a guy who ended up visiting me in Prague the day after. We capped the night off by all going to a club together and the guy and I ran off into the sunset together (HAHA JK), but it was such a fun night & I will never forget that weekend in Berlin.

Myth#2 NO ONE SPEAKS THE LANGUAGE: Everywhere I went someone spoke English. To be honest I made no efforts to learn other languages, and looking back it is something that I definitely do regret. As Americans we do tend to have this expectation that people must conform to our language/way of living when they travel to the U.S. and unfortunately when we travel to their country (myself included so no judgement.) Regardless, you will hear more English that you think when you travel because people from my experience really make efforts to learn the language and communicate. (my Italian friend learned English from rap music LOL.) So give out what you want to receive and maybe try learning some phrases too? I know I will next time I travel!! When all else fails Google Translate works wonders, and I promise people will appreciate you making the effort either way.

Myth #3 TRAVELING ALONE IS NOT SAFE: This of course is HUGE one and like I said before I FEEL where you are coming from. I am not going to lie and say that at times I did not feel unsafe as I am in foreign territory, but I will be honest in saying that many places I have traveled to has very low crime rates (much lower than any city I have lived in the U.S.) I did do my research beforehand, and I would definitely advise you all do the same. You can check out this link here to see the current list of safest places to travel for women (Czech Republic made it!) https://www.cntraveler.com/stories/2016-06-17/the-worlds-10-safest-countries-to-visit-are


I would use lists that these and others to make your decisions on where you want to travel, and also a big tip from me is to make current efforts to build up your street smarts. I lived in New York for 2 years as you know, and while living there I absolutely matured in my skills on how to navigate a city and keep myself as safe as possible in the process. Maybe if you're from a small town try visiting a new city and just practice being a tourist there by yourself for a day. Get comfortable with going up to strangers and asking for help (ALWAYS use your intuition while doing this as she/he is usually right.) Learn how to navigate unfamiliar train systems. I would even put your phone on Do Not Disturb so you wont be distracted and really tune into the more self reliant part of you thats waiting to blossom. Traveling alone is not only for extroverted confident people. If you trust in yourself and in your abilities you can do it momma! I know the unknown is scary, but thats what makes it also exciting! Remember you only grow out of your comfort zone, so start planning your next trip & and get ready for the glow up.

Mythbusting aside I wanna give you all some tips that I really think will be helpful whether it is your first ever SOLO trip or your 50th (aka me in 5 years).

Tip #1 Take a pic of your passport and leave that shit at home. If you lose it you need to go to the English consulate in your area and apply for a new emergency one. That sounds like a headache and a half to me so I would be on the safe side and do not bring it unless you REALLY need it. Pictures usually work and I honestly did not need my passport to go out or anything as drinking age is like 18 or lower in some places.

Tip #2 Download free apps for maps like HERE WeGo. This is a free navigation app that does not require wifi & I REALLY wish I had used this during my travels. I was pretty confused in Berlin with the German street signs at times, so learn from me and download this before your trip.

Tip #3 NEVER EVER EXCHANGE CURRENCY AT THE AIRPORT. Girl I learned this the hard way and was ripped off in the process. Google cheapest conversion rates in each place you go to, and also familiarize yourself with the local currency beforehand so you are not getting cheated by scammers.

Tip #4 Beware of pickpocket-rs. Places like Barcelona are a big for this and unfortunately my Aussie friend was a victim of that. Look around, be aware, and trust your gut. Also keep you serious valuables locked up in a safe in your room and carry minimal cash. Remember cards can always be replaced cash cannot!!

All in all, while traveling I lost 2 phones, had over $300 stolen from me, and got really sick for 2 weeks. Life will happen, shit may get complicated, and obstacles will occur. C’est Le Vie. There is plenty of negativity in this world (aka Donald Trump), but there is so much more positivity and joy out there to be had. You deserve it girlie so go out there and make your mark on this world, and then come back & tell me allll about it.

Love you lots,

XOXO Naje

bottom of page